Forum LAMS for Tech-Heads - General Forum: Share authoring permissions with other authors - Pointers to public folder stuff ?

You may request notification for Share authoring permissions with other authors - Pointers to public folder stuff ?.
Search: 

1: Share authoring permissions with other authors - Pointers to public folder stuff ?
05/03/10 02:44 PM
[ Reply | Forward ]
1) Is it possible to share authoring of a course with other users. I mean the same source in the same spot (not a copy) ?
I bang my head against this problem (or maybe I am blind not doing any LAMS for a while ...)

We need this for two reasons:
* Would like 2-3 students work on a same sequence (I am talking about students who learn how to author LAMS)
* We would like to monitor what they do (without "log in as other authors" which is something admins can do ....

2) Fallback would be to use the public folder that only can be seen in the authoring tool. Btw. as an author I don't see my "public" sequences in My profile->All my lessons (roughly, I am looking at the french interface). Would be nice to have a pointer there.

cheers and thanx :) - Daniel

BTW: I am still thinking that "groups" ought to be improved. A 2 levels-only structure is ok for a small server like ours, but must lead to quite a mess on a big one.....

Posted by Daniel Schneider

2: Re: Share authoring permissions with other authors - Pointers to public folder stuff ?
In response to 1 05/04/10 08:10 PM
[ Reply | Forward ]
Salut Daniel,

> 1) Is it possible to share authoring of a course with other users. I mean the
> same source in the same spot (not a copy) ?

Each LAMS course has a Group in Author (see pict attached). All Author for these course have access to this folder. So if you want to share authoring, you can put sequences in this course folder and all other authors within this course will be able to use this.