Forum Problems Installing LAMS: Newbie: LiveCD, LAMS on a stick or similar?

You may request notification for Newbie: LiveCD, LAMS on a stick or similar?.
Search: 

1: Newbie: LiveCD, LAMS on a stick or similar?
01/14/06 11:06 AM
[ Reply | Forward ]
Hi,

I'm new to LAMS and this community - so Hello!
I haven't found anything about my request neither on the website nor in the forums. So: Is there anything like a LAMS Live CD or a way to put it on a USB-Stick (like you find it for Moodle and quite some CMSs)? Would be grea to promote LAMS plus to make it easier for newbies to play with it.

any help is appreciated.

Take care,
Uwe

Posted by Uwe Klemm

2: Re: Newbie: LiveCD, LAMS on a stick or similar?
In response to 1 01/14/06 04:17 PM
[ Reply | Forward ]
Hi Uwe,

We've been discussing the idea of having a LAMS LiveCD but we haven't got it yet. However, in December we created an LAMS image that you can use with VMPlayer. It's based on Ubuntu Linux and it seems to run quite well.

Jun-Dir has been the father of the creature, so maybe he could give you all the details about it.

Nevertheless, if anyone in the community can help us with a LiveCD, we'll be more than happy to support/help them in that.

Thanks,

Ernie

Posted by Ernie Ghiglione

3: Re: Newbie: LiveCD, LAMS on a stick or similar?
In response to 1 01/15/06 06:28 PM
[ Reply | Forward ]
Some sort of LiveCD would be cool, even better if it could fit on your average USB stick! Unfortunately a LAMS install takes about 100MB (not to mention database server, etc) so there's probably a bit of work there to start off with...