Forum Problems Installing LAMS: Can LAMS be installed on a shared server?

You may request notification for Can LAMS be installed on a shared server?.
Search: 

1: Can LAMS be installed on a shared server?
05/29/06 09:37 PM
[ Reply | Forward ]
I have been using moodle for two years. I upload it to my shared server and I have encountered only a few problems installing it. However, it doesn't appear that LAMS can be installed this way. Do I need to have complete access to my server in order to install it? One of the major reasons I use moodle is because I don't need to worry about maintaining a server to run it. I have used it for two years with few problems. Is there anything that can be done to allow LAMS to be installed this way?

Posted by Rod Spears

2: Re: Can LAMS be installed on a shared server?
In response to 1 05/30/06 07:47 PM
[ Reply | Forward ]
It's true the LAMS setup requires more command line work, as there is no easy to use web interface for initial setup and configuration like there is in Moodle. You do need command line access, so as to do the import of the database, entering your configuration and usernames in the setup file, and copying the files. You wouldn't need root access to the machine to do this, just Java 1.4 JDK support (I'm assuming root access is what you mean by 'complete access'). You *would* need MySQL's root password to setup your MySQL user - although the shared server's owner may setup a MySQL user for you, I'm not so sure how that works.

Posted by Jun-Dir Liew

3: Re: Can LAMS be installed on a shared server?
In response to 1 05/30/06 09:09 PM
[ Reply | Forward ]
Yes, I mean root access. I just installed a copy on my local machine so that I can learn how to use LAMS. It is now running OK and I have integrated it with moodle which I run on the external server. However, I will need to install LAMS on an external server before I can use it with my school.